Kitchen - PONDER Cottage.jpg

Testimonials

Don't just take our word for it - read what others said about their stay at Karawatha Cottages
Real reviews from real guests

Feedback from our guests is something that is truly important for us. It allows to continuously improve, to make those subtle changes that can make all the difference for your stay. And if your stay is as good as or even better than expected than hearing this from you is giving us the motivation to continue on our journey of providing  outstanding accommodation for McLaren Vale.

Having now been included in Tripadvisor's list of the 25 best boutique accommodations in Australia is wonderful recognition that we are immensely proud of. 

Read below what our guests had to say - taken from our guestbook, Tripadvisor or Google Review.

Tripadvisor 2021 Best of the Best white.

John and Ruth, Rockhampton

Karawatha Cottages logo

Unwind Cottage

May 2021

Wonderful accommodation and location.

We will definitely recommend "Unwind" to our friends!

Robyn and James, Collaroy

Google round logo.png

Relish Cottage

May 2021

An absolute gem
We spent 3 nights at Relish cottage ... Karawatha Cottages.

It felt like a home away from home.. new and clean with lots of character nestled in just above the vineyard. Georg was very friendly and knowledgeable and supplied the perfect ingredients for delicious breakfasts. We spend 4 days exploring McLaren Vale and the Fleurieu Peninsular which surpassed our expectations...

Thank you Georg, we will be back .. and will certainly spread the word about Karawatha Cottages

Mandy and Dave, Clarence Park

Tripadvisor%20round%20logo_edited.jpg

Ponder Cottage

May 2021

Rustic Chic
Peace and (stylish !) tranquility among the gum trees and grape vines. Rustic, chic, extremely comfortable , sparkling clean accomodation . Plentiful brekkie provisions and a delicious bottle of McLaren Vale red are provided . Combined with a well equipped kitchen and a sunny verandah . Bliss. Stayed for a weekend but could easily return for a week

Holly and Ryan, Brisbane

Karawatha Cottages logo

Relish Cottage

May 2021

Great stay, great suggestions for off the beaten track. Wonderful hosts, thank you very much

Natalie and Ivan, Melbourne

Tripadvisor%20round%20logo_edited.jpg

Unwind Cottage

May 2021

What a beautiful location

We had the pleasure of staying at Karawatha Cottages in May 2021 and what can we say - we loved every bit of our stay. The proximity to great cellar doors, the warmth of the fireplace and the fantastic views of sunrise each morning were second to none. We will definitely be back next time we’re in the McLaren Vale. Thank you Georg & Friederike!

Chris and Julia, Sydney

JPG_Color_edited.jpg

Ponder Cottage

May 2021

Dear Georg and Friederike
We have so enjoyed our time in McLaren Vale and our stay at Karawatha.
The cottage was perfect!
You have thought of everything and made our stay a very comfortable one.  Thank you for our delicious breakfasts and the generous bottle of wine. Best wishes

Priya & Kenneth, Melbourne

JPG_Color_edited.jpg

Ponder Cottage

May 2021

Thank you for having jus at your lovely cottage, we enjoyed our short stay and hope that we can stay for longer the next time we come by.

Paula and Nigel, Semaphore Park

JPG_Color_edited.jpg

Unwind Cottage

May 2021

Outstanding accommodation, wonderful outlook - will definitely be recommending and purchasing gift certificates

Rebecca & Tom, Craigburn Farm

JPG_Color_edited.jpg

Relish Cottage

May 2021

Thank you for sharing your lovely part of the world with us.

Wonderful place for a relaxing staycation.

Tabitha & Tim, Brisbane

Tripadvisor%20round%20logo_edited.jpg

Relish Cottage

May 2021

Perfect spot for a romantic getaway
My husband and I ducked down from Queensland for a long weekend and it was perfect! There are countless vineyards nearby - it’s impossible to visit them all - with a couple just 200m down the road (and an awesome one next door).
The Relish cottage had everything we needed for our stay - most importantly a fireplace to curl up next to with a glass of wine. We found the cottage comfortable, modern, clean, and easy to find. The hosts are absolutely lovely too! The breakfast provisions were plentiful and there’s everything you could need if you want to grab some groceries and cook a meal or two there.

I’d definitely suggest having a car - makes things heaps easier, but once you’re there it’s easy enough to go for a long walk, e-bike ride or Uber everywhere.

Sue and Tony, Adelaide

Google round logo.png

Ponder Cottage

May 2021

A weekend getaway
Had a 2 night getaway from it all recently at Karawatha Cottages. A lovely little find. After a 50 minute drive from Adelaide on a Friday night after work , we arrived at our little cottage ( we were staying in Ponder) to a warm welcome from our host Georg.
The cottage is very cosy, fully equipped and in a beautiful position with a view over the valley from our outside deck - of which we took great advantage for breakfast and in the evening.
There are ample and delicious breakfast goodies supplied along with a fruit basket, a bottle of wine and some chocolate. Couldn't ask for more.
The cottage is situated close to a 5 kilometer walk that meanders along the vineyards and past several wineries. We spent a very pleasant day walking and dropping in for the occasional wine tasting - no need to worry about the car.
All in all, a very enjoyable stay in a delightful place.

Craig and Ashlee, Hectorville

JPG_Color_edited.jpg

Unwind Cottage

May 2021

Thank you Georg and Friederike, we had a the best and most relaxing weekend away. Everything was perfect in the cottage and you were very accommodating with your suggestions. We will be back for sure. Amazing !!

Paul and Lisa, Perth

JPG_Color_edited.jpg

Unwind Cottage

May 2021

Lovely, peaceful stay. Very comfortable and the wood heater - perfect!! So happy with picked Karawatha - Thank you.

Leonie and Neale, Mackay

JPG_Color_edited.jpg

Relish Cottage

May 2021

Loved our time here - the perfect base to discover McLaren Vale. Recommend Samuels Gorge and Geddes next door & biking around. Great Shower!! Thanks.

Jo & Nic, Leura

JPG_Color_edited.jpg

Ponder Cottage

May 2021

Thank you so much for a wonderful stay. Thanks for all your recommendations in regards to runs and your neighbours. Perfect.

Tina and Natalie, Adelaide

JPG_Color_edited.jpg

Relish Cottage

May 2021

Attention to detail is exceptional!

Thank you for making our stay most welcoming Georg + Friederike

Leigh + Ali, Perth

JPG_Color_edited.jpg

Unwind Cottage

May 2021

Thank you Georg + Friederike, we had the most lovely stay at Unwind. We did just that and wish we could stay longer. A beautiful spot in McLaren Vale amongst the hills + vines. Cosy, comfortable + had everything we needed. We will be back! 

Chithra and Andy, Adelaide

JPG_Color_edited.jpg

Ponder Cottage

April 2021

So tranquil and peaceful. Loved it.
Infinite thanks

Elise and Aaron, Ceduna

Google round logo.png

Ponder Cottage

April 2021

Great location, walking distance to some wineries and an easy drive to many other great wineries, eateries, breweries etc. Georg was really friendly and greeted us on arrival. Personal communication in the lead up making check in a breeze. Georg made some great recommendations for places to visit. Well equiped accommodation, really comfortable and quirky decor... loved it! Lovely breakfast with some special touches like the yummy homemade nectarine jam!

Julie and John, Sydney

Tripadvisor%20round%20logo_edited.jpg

Unwind Cottage

April 2021

Four Night Stay
Beautiful, homely and serene. Thoughtful touches like the breakfast hamper and welcome pack including home made jams! Immaculate and perfectly clean. Great base for a few days exploring the Peninsula and walking the wine trails from your doorstep

Laurence and Denise, Sydney

Tripadvisor%20round%20logo_edited.jpg

Relish Cottage

April 2021

Fantastic Place to stay
Two couples stayed in the two bedroom relish cottage. Everything was perfect, really modern and well decorated cottage, with lovely outlook, peaceful and tranquil surroundings. Some kangaroos hopping about late after in the backyard. Greeted by George who was very friendly and full of very helpful advice. Surrounded by a lot of close wineries - we loved Beresford winery within walking distance which was modern and pleasant to sit in with super friendly staff- great reds and yummy Chardonnay. We also liked Dog Ridge winery. Short drive to McLaren Vale where we had the most delicious meals in the pub restaurant - very high standard food for a pub. And if you want some local cheese the Foodland store has the best cheese selection. There is a lot of breakfast food provided at the cottage with a lovely red from Geddes winery next door. Breakfast on the verandah was wonderful. Would definitely come back and recommend to friends.

Karen and Stuart, Melbourne

Tripadvisor%20round%20logo_edited.jpg

Relish Cottage

April 2021

Perfection
A stunning cottage with gorgeous décor & incredibly clean. Perfectly positioned within the McLaren Vale to access the numerous cellar doors. Loved the peaceful environment created by Georg & Friederike. At the end of the day, we enjoyed sitting on our balcony or under the vine-covered pergola with a wine in hand. We were provided with an abundance of breakfast supplies and information on the surrounding area.
Grateful for the opportunity to visit.