Kitchen - PONDER Cottage.jpg

Testimonials

Don't just take our word for it - read what others said about their stay at Karawatha Cottages
Real reviews from real guests

Feedback from our guests is something that is truly important for us. It allows to continuously improve, to make those subtle changes that can make all the difference for your stay.

And if your stay is as good as or even better than expected than hearing this from you is giving us the motivation to continue on our journey of providing  outstanding accommodation for McLaren Vale.

Having now been included in Tripadvisor's list of the 25 best boutique accommodations in Australia is wonderful recognition that we are immensely proud of. 

Read below what our guests had to say - taken from our guestbook, Tripadvisor or Google Review.

Tripadvisor 2021 Best of the Best white.
Hotelscombined.JPG

Anh and James, Adelaide

Karawatha Cottages logo

Unwind Cottage

October 2021

Beautiful 'off-the-grid' like getaway.  

Everything was wonderful - the perfect mini getaway.
Thank you for your hospitality, we look forward to our next stay here.

Paula and David, West Lakes

Google round logo.png

Ponder Cottage

October 2021

Thank you so much Georg for making our experience at Karawatha Cottages such a remarkable time.

The Ponder Cottage was amazing with first class linen, spotless and well appointed appliances. The ambience inside and outside the cottage is so peaceful and relaxing. You and your wife must be congratulated on your achieved dream of creating such a special place. We will be back!

Dominique and Dan, Torrensville

Tripadvisor%20round%20logo_edited.jpg

Ponder Cottage

October 2021

Serene Oasis
The most beautiful and peaceful getaway - what a wonderful oasis. We loved our stay and all the thoughtful touches. Ideally placed for exploring nearby wineries by foot, bike or car. Looking forward to our next stay!

Rob and Ali, Surrey Downs

Karawatha Cottages logo

Ponder Cottage

September 2021

We couldn't have found a more perfect way to celebrate our 30's wedding anniversary. Georg's friendly and thoughtful hospitality, teamed with the beautiful cottage and surrounds made for a 'home base' second to none. From watching the sunrise over the hills to sitting on the deck watching the colours at sunset, it was a beautiful way to explore the region. Thank you!

Paul and Tania, Inglewood

Google round logo.png

Relish Cottage

September 2021

This BnB was truly delightful. We loved our time at Karawatha Cottages in beautiful McLaren Vale. Georg, the owner, was very knowledgeable and keen to help us with all inquiries. This was very useful as we were pointed in directions we were totally unaware of. In our cottage, Relish, there was great attention to detail and the supplied foods were yummy, healthy and plentiful. Beds were comfy and the rooms spotless. Would not hesitate to stay here again as rates are also very reasonable. Thanks for a cracking stay

Jane and Richard, Seacliff

Tripadvisor%20round%20logo_edited.jpg

Relish Cottage

September 2021

Dear Georg & Friederike
Thank you so much for making our short stay in your beautiful region so special. The way you have created and presented Relish Cottage was perfect, down to the last detail, and a credit to you both. We'll recommend you for sure!

Georgia and Jak, Adelaide

Google round logo.png

Ponder Cottage

September 2021

An amazing weekend getaway destination!

Georg was so helpful and gave lots of useful suggestions for our stay. Everything was to an outstanding standard and the breakfast inclusions made the stay all the better!! Will definitely be recommending this stay

James and Amy, Adelaide

Tripadvisor%20round%20logo_edited.jpg

Ponder Cottage

August 2021

Weekend Getaway
Great place to relax and unwind. The area is very peaceful with excellent views of the vineyards. The place was clean and tidy and beautifully decorated. Will definitely recommend to friends and family. Be back soon.

Janine and Mal, Adelaide

Tripadvisor%20round%20logo_edited.jpg

Ponder Cottage

August 2021

Perfect
We had a lovely 2 nights at Karawatha Cottages in Ponder. A beautiful, absolutely spotlessly clean cottage. We especially loved the fire & enjoyed our complimentary bottle of wine cozied up next to it. The special touches of breakfast provisions, home made jam & chocolates was most welcome & appreciated. Thank you Georg for your hospitality, we had a lovely stay & hope to come back.

John and Sandra, Flagstaff Hill

Tripadvisor%20round%20logo_edited.jpg

Unwind Cottage

August 2021

Unwind in the McLaren Vale region
Taking advantage of a recent Great State voucher, we chose to stay a couple of nights at Karawatha cottages in the Unwind self contained unit.
Our host Georg was nearby when we arrived and he gave us some local knowledge of the many wineries and restaurants to visit in the area.
Attention to detail with a welcome bottle of of wine from a nearby winery and B+B basket for breakfast was appreciated as was the yummy Peach jam and chocs.
The room was comfortable for a couple with clean modern decor and the balcony deck outside offered beautiful views of the surrounding hills.
Whilst the weather was cool during our stay, our unit was comfortable and warm with the combustion heated already stacked and ready to go with clear instructions.
The location is nearby to a good selection of wineries.

Kylie, Hamish and Leo, Blackwood

Google round logo.png

Relish Cottage

August 2021

Lovely Spot!
We loved our stay! The rooms were beautiful. Perfect for a family getaway. Having wineries in walking distance was perfect for not having to do too much planning for the day! Fire was beautiful and toasty warm. Would recommend booking at The Currant Shed if you plan to go.

Di & Brent, Adelaide

Karawatha Cottages logo

Relish Cottage

August 2021

A great neck of the woods. Exceptional quality accommodation and friendly hosts. 10+

David and Angie, Henley Beach

Karawatha Cottages logo

Unwind Cottage

August 2021

Second time here - and loved it just as much- great friendly welcome, lovely + clean- will be back again for sure. Thanks again

Barbara and John, Clayton Bay

Karawatha Cottages logo

Ponder Cottage

August 2021

What a transformation - from a tin shed to a most presentable cottage. Well done. From crisp flat sheets to  home made jam - and everything in between. Most commendable - thank you.

Stan and Yvonne, Glen Osmond

Tripadvisor%20round%20logo_edited.jpg

Unwind Cottage

August 2021

Our mini get-away
We spent three wonderful days at Karawatha Cottages in McLaren vale!
The accommodation was simply perfect and we loved our time exploring the area & discovering new wineries!
The breakfast provisions….yum!!!
Freshly baked bread, home made jam, local eggs & bacon!
The fire at night was so cosy to relax by!
And a complimentary bottle of wine from the winery next door topped it all off!

Margaret and Ian, Heathfield

Tripadvisor%20round%20logo_edited.jpg

Unwind Cottage

July 2021

Cozy, comfortable cottage. Our two night stay allowed a more relaxed look at McLaren Vale, and we enjoyed the local walks into Onkaparinga Gorge park.
We visited some great wineries. Can recommend Down the Rabbit hole. for a quirky young laid back feel.

Erica & George, Adelaide

Tripadvisor%20round%20logo_edited.jpg

Ponder Cottage

August 2021

The Ultimate Getaway Wine Region Experience!
My fiancé and I have stayed at Karawatha Cottages on 3 separate occasions now the past 12 months - and we will be back again!! We absolutely adore the cosy cottages and the amazing location in Blewitt Springs, close to all our favourite wineries. Both Georg and Friederike are wonderful hosts, providing us with recommendations and welcoming us with beautiful fresh produce for us to make breakfast. We love the bespoke cottage furnishings and always recommend Karawatha Cottages to our friends! A location and stay you won't regret! 

Adam & Adey, Adelaide

Tripadvisor%20round%20logo_edited.jpg

Ponder Cottage

July 2021

Idyllic setting, great hosts
Highly recommended! Convenient location, idyllic setting with beautiful views and birdsong, Thoughtful hosts, who are very welcoming. Little touches like homemade nectarine jam and suggested itineraries for walking and riding with laminated maps . We would love to return.

Janet and Dennis, Largs North

Google round logo.png

Ponder Cottage

August 2021

A Very Memorable Short Getaway
Karawatha Cottages provided us with one of our most memorable short holidays. We loved the story of how Georg and Friederike came to South Australia and built their dream. They thought of all things that visitors would desire to make this a perfect place to stay; everything is first class. The cottage was very clean, spacious, comfortable and well equipped. The breakfast provisions were ample and high class. Many thanks.

We encourage potential visitors to South Australia’s Fleurieu Peninsula to book direct with Karawatha Cottages.

Nicole and Ben, Belair

Google round logo.png

Unwind Cottage

July 2021

Lovely accommodation and provisions. Extremely clean and comfortable stay in the Unwind cottage, perfect for a couple. Would be happy to stay again

Rosemary and Jeff, Tusmore

Karawatha Cottages logo

Relish Cottage

July 2021

Another enjoyable stay. A glass of wine by the fire. What could be better? Thank you again for your warmth and hospitality.

Shelley and Blayne, Semaphore Park

Karawatha Cottages logo

Unwind Cottage

July 2021

Beautiful cottage, incredible location. So well thought out and done so well! 
Great tips + recommendations. Thank you! Beautiful property Congrats :)

Peter and Liz, Adelaide

Karawatha Cottages logo

Unwind Cottage

July 2021

Lovely time, very relaxing and beautiful views- thank you

Jasmine and Daniel, Adelaide

Karawatha Cottages logo

Ponder Cottage

July 2021

Such a lovely place to stay. We couldn't have picked a better place to enjoy our 10th wedding anniversary. Loved the breakfast :) 

Julie and Peter, Adelaide

Google round logo.png

Relish Cottage

July 2021

Excellent cottage!

Had everything we needed - lots of good crockery & glassware. Beds were super comfy, all was clean & tidy, and location was beautiful. Communication from owners was excellent. We will certainly stay there again

Demi and Jamie, Murray Bridge

Karawatha Cottages logo

Relish Cottage

July 2021

Perfect location and cottage!

Georg and Friederike were so helpful and knowledgeable about the area and activities available. The guest handbook was so helpful and the location was absolutely perfect. The walking wine tour was such a great experience we can’t wait to come back and do it again. The cottage was beautiful and clean and lovely and private. The welcome basket and breakfast food was a lovely touch and very much appreciated. We will definitely be coming back to stay again!

Toni and Matt, Adelaide

Karawatha Cottages logo

Unwind Cottage

July 2021

Wonderful accommodation and perfect location. Lovely views and great hosts. Thank you for having us.

Mel & Nick, Sydney

Karawatha Cottages logo

Ponder Cottage

June 2021

Beautiful cottage. Felt right at home, lovely cosy nights in. Thank you Georg for going above and beyond for us - even on your anniversary. Wonderful hosts. 10/10

Anne-Marie & Tony, Brisbane

Google round logo.png

Ponder Cottage

June 2021

You Must Stay Here
We stayed for 3 nights in the Ponder cottage. Our stay was an awesome experience. Georg welcomed us on arrival and his knowledge and suggestions on where to go was terrific. The cottage was very cosy, comfortable and perfect for our stay and we felt very much at home. Breakfast provisions were generous and delicious. A must is the walking tour of the close wineries with lunch at the currant Shed.
Amazing hosts, great location, awesome place.
We would return in a heartbeat

Daniel & Felicity; Trent & Laura - Melbourne

Tripadvisor%20round%20logo_edited.jpg

Relish Cottage

June 2021

Amazing Stay
Absolutely amazing cottage right near all of the vineyards (Georg even provided a mapped out route where you can walk between the vineyards). The cottage was perfect - the wood fire was stoked for us everyday and plenty of delicious food was provided. Georg even provided some great recommendations on places to eat out. Overall a wonderful experience and it was everything we were after. Highly recommend!

Gail and Graham, Port Augusta

Karawatha Cottages logo

Ponder Cottage

June 2021

Thank you very much. Lovely place to stay. Really enjoyed the McLaren Vale region.

Jake and Lauren, Adelaide

Karawatha Cottages logo

Unwind Cottage

June 2021

Perfect accommodation & base to make the most of what McLaren Vale has to offer. You want for nothing. Thank you.

Anne and Adam, Canberra

Tripadvisor%20round%20logo_edited.jpg

Unwind Cottage

June 2021

Best Stay in South Australia
I searched high and low for this boutique accommodation as it would be the last 3 days of our two week stay in South Australia. I love finding places where the owners have a good eye for design and add touches to make your stay that little bit extra special. Our generous breakfast was included and a complimentary bottle of wine from the cellar Geddes next door. The firewood was replaced every day and timely as it does get cold end June. Georg was the perfect host. Very knowledgeable on the region and happy to help out. We highly recommend any of the cottages for that special stay.

Juanita, Anna & Rosanne, Newton

Karawatha Cottages logo

Relish Cottage

June 2021

"Relish":  Immaculate, Gorgeous, Serene
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Absolutely amazing! Thank you for your friendliness, helpfulness, knowledge & hospitality. We have 'relished' our time here. Definitely returning & definitely recommending.

Chloe and Hamish, Adelaide

Tripadvisor%20round%20logo_edited.jpg

Unwind Cottage

June 2021

Amazing
We stayed in the unwind cottage, beautiful scenery, lovely and warm, breakfast provisions were very generous and the hosts were wonderful! Nice and close to many prominent winery’s, we were able to walk.

Andrew and Drew, Adelaide

Karawatha Cottages logo

Relish Cottage

June 2021

Amazing stay. Amazing hosts. Such a great weekend. We will be back

Rachel and Michael, Rockhampton

Google round logo.png

Relish Cottage

June 2021

Really lovely cottages in a beautiful setting. Very accommodating and friendly hosts. Excellent breakfast provisions and a warm fire for the evenings. Would highly recommend!

Anne and Barrie, Linden Park

Karawatha Cottages logo

Ponder Cottage

June 2021

Thank you Georg & Friederike for providing such a delightful home base for our trip to McLaren Vale. Ponder is very comfortable with all that we  could need, together with quality house linen. We loved Pizzateca, Saturday morning markets at Willunga and d'Arenberg to top it off! 

Ange and Steve, Smithfield

Karawatha Cottages logo

Unwind Cottage

June 2021

Accom is fabulous. Hosts are fantastic, attention to detail - amazing !
Make sure you do the "wine trail" & make Geddes last stop - owners are delightful!

David and Michelle, Sheidow Park

Tripadvisor%20round%20logo_edited.jpg

Unwind Cottage

June 2021

Romantic Getaway
Spent 2 nights in the Unwind cottage. It was cosy, comfortable and nicely presented. Georg greeted us upon arrival and gave us some great tips on things to do near by. He was very welcoming. We highly recommend a romantic stay here.

Jessican and Logan, Stirling

Google round logo.png

Relish Cottage

June 2021

Along with all the fine details and amazing decor, we were blown away with the cleanliness and attention to the minor details. Georg also came and introduced himself and gave us some fantastic tips on fantastic food choices and his top wine tips, which did not disappoint. All and all, it was a fantastic getaway weekend. Thank you

Amanda and John, Sydney

Karawatha Cottages logo

Ponder Cottage

June 2021

Thank you for letting us stay in this beautiful cottage & being such a generous, thoughtful host.

We couldn't have enjoyed it more!

Robyn and James, Collaroy

Google round logo.png

Relish Cottage

May 2021

An absolute gem
We spent 3 nights at Relish cottage ... Karawatha Cottages.

It felt like a home away from home.. new and clean with lots of character nestled in just above the vineyard. Georg was very friendly and knowledgeable and supplied the perfect ingredients for delicious breakfasts. We spend 4 days exploring McLaren Vale and the Fleurieu Peninsular which surpassed our expectations...

Thank you Georg, we will be back .. and will certainly spread the word about Karawatha Cottages

Mandy and Dave, Clarence Park

Tripadvisor%20round%20logo_edited.jpg

Ponder Cottage

May 2021

Rustic Chic
Peace and (stylish !) tranquillity among the gum trees and grape vines. Rustic, chic, extremely comfortable , sparkling clean accommodation . Plentiful brekkie provisions and a delicious bottle of McLaren Vale red are provided . Combined with a well equipped kitchen and a sunny verandah . Bliss. Stayed for a weekend but could easily return for a week

John and Ruth, Rockhampton

Karawatha Cottages logo

Unwind Cottage

May 2021

Wonderful accommodation and location.

We will definitely recommend "Unwind" to our friends!

Holly and Ryan, Brisbane

Karawatha Cottages logo

Relish Cottage

May 2021

Great stay, great suggestions for off the beaten track. Wonderful hosts, thank you very much

Natalie and Ivan, Melbourne

Tripadvisor%20round%20logo_edited.jpg

Unwind Cottage

May 2021

What a beautiful location

We had the pleasure of staying at Karawatha Cottages in May 2021 and what can we say - we loved every bit of our stay. The proximity to great cellar doors, the warmth of the fireplace and the fantastic views of sunrise each morning were second to none. We will definitely be back next time we’re in the McLaren Vale. Thank you Georg & Friederike!

Chris and Julia, Sydney

JPG_Color_edited.jpg

Ponder Cottage

May 2021

Dear Georg and Friederike
We have so enjoyed our time in McLaren Vale and our stay at Karawatha.
The cottage was perfect!
You have thought of everything and made our stay a very comfortable one.  Thank you for our delicious breakfasts and the generous bottle of wine. Best wishes

Priya & Kenneth, Melbourne

JPG_Color_edited.jpg

Ponder Cottage

May 2021

Thank you for having jus at your lovely cottage, we enjoyed our short stay and hope that we can stay for longer the next time we come by.

Paula and Nigel, Semaphore Park

JPG_Color_edited.jpg

Unwind Cottage

May 2021

Outstanding accommodation, wonderful outlook - will definitely be recommending and purchasing gift certificates

Rebecca & Tom, Craigburn Farm

JPG_Color_edited.jpg

Relish Cottage

May 2021

Thank you for sharing your lovely part of the world with us.

Wonderful place for a relaxing staycation.

Tabitha & Tim, Brisbane

Tripadvisor%20round%20logo_edited.jpg

Relish Cottage

May 2021

Perfect spot for a romantic getaway
My husband and I ducked down from Queensland for a long weekend and it was perfect! There are countless vineyards nearby - it’s impossible to visit them all - with a couple just 200m down the road (and an awesome one next door).
The Relish cottage had everything we needed for our stay - most importantly a fireplace to curl up next to with a glass of wine. We found the cottage comfortable, modern, clean, and easy to find. The hosts are absolutely lovely too! The breakfast provisions were plentiful and there’s everything you could need if you want to grab some groceries and cook a meal or two there.

I’d definitely suggest having a car - makes things heaps easier, but once you’re there it’s easy enough to go for a long walk, e-bike ride or Uber everywhere.

Sue and Tony, Adelaide

Google round logo.png

Ponder Cottage

May 2021

A weekend getaway
Had a 2 night getaway from it all recently at Karawatha Cottages. A lovely little find. After a 50 minute drive from Adelaide on a Friday night after work , we arrived at our little cottage ( we were staying in Ponder) to a warm welcome from our host Georg.
The cottage is very cosy, fully equipped and in a beautiful position with a view over the valley from our outside deck - of which we took great advantage for breakfast and in the evening.
There are ample and delicious breakfast goodies supplied along with a fruit basket, a bottle of wine and some chocolate. Couldn't ask for more.
The cottage is situated close to a 5 kilometer walk that meanders along the vineyards and past several wineries. We spent a very pleasant day walking and dropping in for the occasional wine tasting - no need to worry about the car.
All in all, a very enjoyable stay in a delightful place.

Craig and Ashlee, Hectorville

JPG_Color_edited.jpg

Unwind Cottage

May 2021

Thank you Georg and Friederike, we had a the best and most relaxing weekend away. Everything was perfect in the cottage and you were very accommodating with your suggestions. We will be back for sure. Amazing !!

Paul and Lisa, Perth

JPG_Color_edited.jpg

Unwind Cottage

May 2021

Lovely, peaceful stay. Very comfortable and the wood heater - perfect!! So happy with picked Karawatha - Thank you.

Leonie and Neale, Mackay

JPG_Color_edited.jpg

Relish Cottage

May 2021

Loved our time here - the perfect base to discover McLaren Vale. Recommend Samuels Gorge and Geddes next door & biking around. Great Shower!! Thanks.

Jo & Nic, Leura

JPG_Color_edited.jpg

Ponder Cottage

May 2021

Thank you so much for a wonderful stay. Thanks for all your recommendations in regards to runs and your neighbours. Perfect.

Tina and Natalie, Adelaide

JPG_Color_edited.jpg

Relish Cottage

May 2021

Attention to detail is exceptional!

Thank you for making our stay most welcoming Georg + Friederike

Leigh + Ali, Perth

JPG_Color_edited.jpg

Unwind Cottage

May 2021

Thank you Georg + Friederike, we had the most lovely stay at Unwind. We did just that and wish we could stay longer. A beautiful spot in McLaren Vale amongst the hills + vines. Cosy, comfortable + had everything we needed. We will be back! 

Chithra and Andy, Adelaide

JPG_Color_edited.jpg

Ponder Cottage

April 2021

So tranquil and peaceful. Loved it.
Infinite thanks

Elise and Aaron, Ceduna

Google round logo.png

Ponder Cottage

April 2021

Great location, walking distance to some wineries and an easy drive to many other great wineries, eateries, breweries etc. Georg was really friendly and greeted us on arrival. Personal communication in the lead up making check in a breeze. Georg made some great recommendations for places to visit. Well equiped accommodation, really comfortable and quirky decor... loved it! Lovely breakfast with some special touches like the yummy homemade nectarine jam!

Julie and John, Sydney

Tripadvisor%20round%20logo_edited.jpg

Unwind Cottage

April 2021

Four Night Stay
Beautiful, homely and serene. Thoughtful touches like the breakfast hamper and welcome pack including home made jams! Immaculate and perfectly clean. Great base for a few days exploring the Peninsula and walking the wine trails from your doorstep

Laurence and Denise, Sydney

Tripadvisor%20round%20logo_edited.jpg

Relish Cottage

April 2021

Fantastic Place to stay
Two couples stayed in the two bedroom relish cottage. Everything was perfect, really modern and well decorated cottage, with lovely outlook, peaceful and tranquil surroundings. Some kangaroos hopping about late after in the backyard. Greeted by George who was very friendly and full of very helpful advice. Surrounded by a lot of close wineries - we loved Beresford winery within walking distance which was modern and pleasant to sit in with super friendly staff- great reds and yummy Chardonnay. We also liked Dog Ridge winery. Short drive to McLaren Vale where we had the most delicious meals in the pub restaurant - very high standard food for a pub. And if you want some local cheese the Foodland store has the best cheese selection. There is a lot of breakfast food provided at the cottage with a lovely red from Geddes winery next door. Breakfast on the verandah was wonderful. Would definitely come back and recommend to friends.

Karen and Stuart, Melbourne

Tripadvisor%20round%20logo_edited.jpg

Relish Cottage

April 2021

Perfection
A stunning cottage with gorgeous décor & incredibly clean. Perfectly positioned within the McLaren Vale to access the numerous cellar doors. Loved the peaceful environment created by Georg & Friederike. At the end of the day, we enjoyed sitting on our balcony or under the vine-covered pergola with a wine in hand. We were provided with an abundance of breakfast supplies and information on the surrounding area.
Grateful for the opportunity to visit.